A brief history of pleasant grove

Over 180 years ago, people with vision started meeting in homes to study the Bible and to worship.  One of their slogans was "we speak where the Bible speaks and are silent where the Bible is silent."  No doubt this was spoken because of so many divisions among Christians.  About ten years later, this group hued logs from the woods to erect a building which was small 34x38 feet.  The church was known as the Congress Church of Christ.

The building was remodeled in 1858 and the name was changed to Pleasant Grove Church of Christ.  The building was again remodeled in 1914 when a basement was put under the place of worship.  In 1959, classrooms were added, rest rooms were installed as well as  a nursery.  Growth of the church led to the decision to build a new building across the road and the new building was dedicated in 1969.  This new building is where we currently worship.  

Over 55 ministers have served the church during this span of time.  The future looks bright as we anticipate more souls brought to Christ and an intentional effort to seek to follow our Lord and His Word.  With a rich heritage, we are determined to simply be a "People of God" in Morrow County and everywhere He takes us.